Let her sleep, for when she wakes, she will move mountains 

No, seriously, let her sleep. 10 minutes, an hour, four hours (I wish), or 10 (dream city!) just let her sleep!!! 

Of all the things our sweet little lady has mastered so far in her 10 months out of my belly (I can’t believe it’s been that long) sleep has not been one of them. She finally slept for 2 chunks of 3 hours at a time solo two nights ago and it was great but that’s it. I could go on about why I think so and whatnot But, as the first rule of sleep club, you don’t talk about sleep club haha 
I prefer to say that she doesn’t like to miss anything (day or night). However,  I am quite thankful for the amount of time she likes to be involved in things, she is not cranky and she enjoys life. She is getting better at night, even if she prefers to feel my body and my every breath in order to do so.  She will figure it out one day, so even if I have bags designed by Bree and need an extra cup of coffee or two every day, I’m not concerned. 

But who am I kidding?!? I knew from the minute I found out that I was having a daughter, she would be fierce and a force to be reckoned with. To challenge me and test me in ways I never had imagined.  She is oh so sweet and oh so determined. Very different than her brother in so many ways and already giving me a run for my money. 
Crawling and walking earlier and babbling away. She is so strong with her intentions yet simultaneously sweet and very lovey. She already knows what she wants and doesn’t stop until she gets it. Great qualities to have as a little one and definitely makes me more mindful as her mother. Because she is SO fierce, I hope I can match what she needs with intention and love. I am already learning a lot about myself through watching her grow and our relationship. I knew when I found out I was pregnant that she would complete our family and she confirms that everyday. Her persistence and passion is already so clear and I know she will make a huge difference in the world one day. 

It’s fun to watch her relationship with her brother evolve and how she looks at him with eyes full of admiration. My wish is that they always love each other as they do today. 

I had a hard time emotionally, the last few months of my pregnancy, wondering how I would balance my relationships with each of my babies. Bear was my baby. My first born. The one that made me a mama. He is such a mom’s boy and we have a strong bond. I knew that our relationship would change forever when his sister was born, even though I was giving him the greatest gift of all by giving him a sibling.

 When my water broke and we were waiting for my mother-in-law to come over so we could go to the hospital. All I could think about was how my sweet little boy was sleeping away upstairs not knowing his life was about to change forever. It still brings tears to my eyes to think about, even though I know it’s not necessarily a bad thing. It’s just a little different now. 

We still are super close and he loves his sister beyond words. A little jealous at times but I couldn’t picture it better. My relationship with Bree is evolving and everyone who told me you do have enough love in your heart for your babies and you don’t have to split it, was right. Splitting time and activities is a huge challenge I face right now (especially bedtime, my least favorite time of day) but the love is not scarce, if anything it’s compounded. I don’t feel that they have to share my love or that I love one more than the other and hopefully they don’t feel that way either. 

I can’t believe my baby is 10 months. 

2 thoughts on “Let her sleep, for when she wakes, she will move mountains 

Leave a Reply

