Be Strong for 9 months, Brave for 1 day, and Loving for always. 

Today I did something that I have been putting off for about 7 months. I put my maternity clothes in a bag to get ready to donate. To get ready to donate. Baby steps. 

This was very hard for me and I’m still not 100% ready to give them away. Giving them away means that I am at peace with not being pregnant again and not having another baby. Something, I must admit that I am not at peace with. 

I will,first and foremost, say that I know how blessed and fortunate I am to have 2 (not 1 but 2) very healthy and happy babies. I was blessed with 2 healthy pregnancies and deliveries (for the most part). I know plenty of women don’t have the same experience and some never have the opportunity to be pregnant or have a baby. I don’t take any of this for granted and am grateful every day of my life. 

However, I always envisioned having a little army of babies, 4, 5 or 6 kids was always my plan. Raise the first one right and he can raise the others 😉 Kidding…

But often, life doesn’t go as we initially intend it to go. 

With Bear, I couldn’t wait to get out of and put away my maternity clothes, because I knew I would most likely be back in them. This time around, the whole process was a little harder. Recovery after delivery was a bit more challenging and I didn’t start to workout until after 8 weeks post partum and once I did start working out, I had to ease my way back into because my body wasn’t having high impact activities. The whole getting back into shape process has been a lot harder for me emotionally because I know I no longer have the goal of getting back in shape to have another baby like the first time around. I am stronger and healthier by the day but my pace has been slowed because of these emotions and lack of motivation. I’ve had to take a different approach and use more mental than physical energy. 

And I kept my maternity clothes in the draw, even though they haven’t fit since like September. They look back at me every time I open my draw to put on a shirt. Reminding me I need to make the decision to move forward. But I am not ready. I am one step closer  but I am not ready. 

Today I did something that I have been putting off for about 7 months. I put my maternity clothes in a bag to get ready to donate. To get ready to donate. Baby steps. 


Leave a Reply

