Something about a truck…

So I know it’s been awhile and I have a lot to catch up on but things have been chaotic and busy so essentially, life has been going on 😜 

Today is a bittersweet day. We are trading in the truck for a new car. To be quite honest,I’ve never really cared about cars. I just needed something reliable to get me from point a to point b. I didn’t have a car payment until I moved to MA to be with my husband and realize how fortunate I am. 

But there is something about a truck. When I lived in Florida and worked for CoAd, two of my bosses drove trucks. I enjoyed it when I had to take them out for a spin and it was fun to drive them around. Lots of decisions were made in those trucks and times of reflections. When we bought our house in CT, my husband felt, as homeowners, we needed a pick up truck. Because I don’t really care about cars, I said sure honey, whatever makes you happy! #happyhubbyhappylife

When he transferred jobs to his current job in MA, we switched cars and the truck became “mine”.  Mine to tote the dogs and Bear around in. Mine to relearn how to drive in the snow in. Mine to dominate the road 😉 Mine to park obnoxiously sometimes in small spaces and mine to park kick ass like in parking garages that barely fit it. We moved back to MA in this truck and brought Bree home from the hospital in it. 

I cried in the truck as I could barely go to the store 3 minutes away without Bree hyperventilating hysterically because she couldn’t see or feel me from her car seat for the first 6 or so months of her life. I dropped my baby off at preschool for the first time,in this truck and picked him up after many successful days, watching him come into his three year old self. Bear turned front facing in this truck and gained a whole new perspective on the world. 

I don’t care too much about cars but there is something about a truck…and this truck will have so many memories in my heart forever as the two others I drove before. 

Sounds silly and super emotional, but that’s where I’m at these days. Lots of changes ahead and new bittersweet beginnings. But there will always be something about a truck…

Leave a Reply

